## The Chicago Academy for the Arts

# Class of 2021 Graduation Ceremony



May 21, 2021 7:00 p.m.

#### **2021 Graduation Ceremony**

### The Chicago Academy for the Arts Class of 2021

Sarah Adelman Miguel Lucero

Ethan Alonzo Olivia Manno

Briley Boersma Sarah McCarthy

Mary Campbell Casey (James) Murphy

Patrick Clesen Izzie Newman

Rudolph Davis Brianna North

Karen Duncan Austin Peyton

Benjamin Eble Asher Ramaly

Madeline Farinas de Leon Amachi Smith-Hill

Julia Foley Nicholas Spallone

Dyani Gandarilla Madelaine Steffen

Natalee Hapaniewski Sarah (Sawyer) Stevenson

Joseph Henning-Sepkoski Sadie Straub

Nicholas Holmes Dominic Turan

Abbie Jacobson Mikael Watkins

Hanna Knowles Isabel Weiss

Jodie Lloyd Triniti Williams

### **2021 Graduation Ceremony**

### **Opening Remarks**

culty Floated Chapker

raculty Elected Speaker	(Visual Arts, 2021)
Student Elected Speaker	, , ,

Commencement Address.....Ken-Matt Martin

Martin was announced as the third artistic director of Victory Gardens Theatre in Chicago on March 17th, 2021. He is the founder of Pyramid Theatre Company in Des Moines, IA, where he served as Executive Director until 2018. As a child actor, he had a development contract with the Nickelodeon network and appeared on the network's landmark show All That. During the 2015-2016 season, he served as Apprentice General Manager at the Goodman Theatre. Martin is a graduate of Drake University with degrees in Musical Theatre and Journalism. Ken-Matt completed his M.F.A. in Directing at Brown University in 2019.

**Scherzo No. 2 in C Minor, op. 14** by Clara Schumann Bazyli Siwek (Music, 2022)

Dance Department	Randy Duncan
Media Arts Department	Jessi Meliza
Music Department	Rachel Brown
Musical Theatre Department	Andy Robinson
Theatre Department	Ben Dicke
Visual Arts Department	Margy Stover
Conferring of Diplomas	

**Congratulations Class of 2021!** 

### The Chicago Academy for the Arts

### TRUSTEES, STAFF, AND FACULTY

### **BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

Michael Finnerty - Chair Todd Walbert - Vice Chair Levoyd Robinson - Immediate Past Chair Krista Linn - Treasurer Jason Kalajainen - Secretary

Carlos Claudio Larry Garstki Rusty Hernandez-Sanfilippo

Patty Hunt

Dr. Timothy Knowles Nora Napientek Richard H. Sanders Alexander (Sandy) Williams

Kelly Boersma Parents Association President

Paut Detlefs Trustee Emeritus

Jason Patera, Head of School

**Judith Rothschild** Trustee Emeritus

Barbara Atkins Ruhman Trustee Emeritus

#### ADMINISTRATION

Chris Arnold, Assistant Head of School Ion Arndt, Director of Finance and Operations Sarah Bowden, Office Manager Kaytlin Bush, Senior Marketing Associate Tim Butler, Director of Marketing and Communications Mark Chrisler, Administrative Associate Henry Feliciano, Facilities Manager

Robert Feliciano, Facilities Manager Kalie Halpin, School Counselor

JT Newman, Director of Development Jessica Phelan, Senior Admissions Associate, Assistant Director of Summer and Saturday **Programs** Maria Elena Rodriguez, Facilities Associate Kimberly Swise, Registrar Stacey Talbert, Administrative Associate

Van Jackson, Security Guard

Sarah Langford, College Counselor

Andy Robinson, Musical Theatre Chair

**Jessi Meliza**, Media Arts Chair

Anthony Pinto, Math, Science, &

Margy Stover, Visual Arts Chair

Nick Roux, English, Humanities Department

### **FACULTY**

Rachel Brown, Music Chair Elizabeth Cunningham, Director of Learning Resources

Joe Hulbert, Director of Strategic Initiatives

Ben Dicke, Theatre Chair Randy Duncan, Dance Chair

Anna Mijalski, World Languages, Humanities

Department Co-Chair

Kasey Alfonso

Alyssa Allgood

Deborah Goodman

Adam Goldstein

Mary Kettering Jesse Langen Kelly Liu Nichole Luchs **Emily Luhrs** 

Technology Chair

Co-Chair

Lauren Rovin Patricia Rusk **Jonathan Schang** Peter Schwendener

Alyssa Bennett Sarah Grant Buck Blue Christopher Hagenah Richard Brasseale Ionathan Hannau Alex Cassidy Kelli Harrington Sarah Clausen Scott Hesse Rita Dawod Sarah Hiatt Jon Deitemyer Jake Hinkson Meredith Dincolo Christine Hoffman Azadeh Gholizadeh Josh Jones

Melissa Metelits Olga Meyer Brenda Moore Jack Murray Matteson Pino Selena Robinson Patrick Simoniello Tim Tynan Nichole Young Sneza Zabic